a : food; especially : solid food as distinguished from drink
b : the edible part of something as distinguished from its covering (as a husk or shell)
: animal tissue considered especially as food:
a : flesh 2b; also : flesh of a mammal as opposed to fowl or fish
b : flesh 1a; specifically : flesh of domesticated animals
Meat is animal flesh. Fish is meat. Whats the difference between the flesh of a cow and the flesh of a fish? Theyre both animal flesh. Its not like the difference between eggs and flesh. Flesh is flesh.
I'm a vegan now, but I understood this in high school when I was "pescetarian" (term for people who eat no animal flesh other than fish/seafood). I've never been vegetarian, as a result. And I dont consider people who eat any kind of animal flesh (unless you slipped up once or twice by accident) to be vegetarians. If fish is a part of your diet and youre not opposed to eating fish, youre not a vegetarian. For the life of me, I cant see how you would would think bloody guts and flesh of a fish is involved in a "vegetarian" diet. But some people claim that you can be a pesco-vegetarian. Its b.s. to me. Names for our cuisine (red meat, poultry, seafood) dont change the fact of what it is. chicken and turkey may be called poultry but theyre still meat. fish may be called seafood or in its own category - just "fish" - but its still meat.
I consider eggs to be close to meat but its no more actual animal flesh than the eggs in my ovaries are.
Everybody has a definition of what meat is, what an animal is, etc. i.e. A bee is considered an animal, where I considered it a dead azz bug if flies near me, but I digress. "Meat" are "Seafood" are proteins and it is a big consideration when eliminating items from your diet. When talking to a person who practices these dietary lifestyles, just ask what it means to them. Here is some information for you because there are a lot of different 'vegetarians.'
Ovo vegetarianism includes eggs but not dairy products.
Lacto vegetarianism includes dairy products but not eggs.
Lacto-ovo vegetarianism includes dairy products such as eggs, milk and cheese.
Veganism excludes all animal flesh and animal products, so excludes milk, cheese and eggs, and pure vegans exclude honey because it is a by-product of bees.
Raw veganism includes only fresh and uncooked fruit, nuts, seeds, and vegetables. You could cook vegetables but only up to a certain low temperature. Raw foods purists do not cook anything.
Semi-vegetarian diets include:
pescetarianism, which includes fish and sometimes other seafood.
pollotarianism, which includes poultry.
A pollo-pescatarian which includes poultry and fish, or white meat only.
Flexitarian – primarily vegetarian, but will eat meat if easier by social circumstance
Carnivores and Paleotarians have a diet of organic meats and healthy doses of fruits, vegetable, nuts and seeds, with minimal grains, legumes, starches and sugars.
Some meat-eaters, vegetarians, and vegans suck their upper lip at each other all the time. Raw vegans disses everybody.
Fish in not meat. There is Meat, Seafood and Poultry. Just look around your market. Those sections are clearly marked. Though, she is not a vegetarian if she eats seafood because being a vegetarian means abstaining from the consumption of meat – red meat, poultry, seafood and the flesh of any other animal.
I don't eat meat but if it swims or flies, theres a good chance I'll eat it. LOL. When I think of meat I thing of warm blooded mammals. I want to be vegetarian but I just cannot break up with seafood.
'I Jog five miles a day then I hit the sauna. My girls rock Chanel and smoke mad marijuana.'
One time this guy I met said he was a vegetarian and I said oh that's cool, why don't you eat meat? And then he said oh I do I love chicken and turkey and steak. And I said wtf how are you a vegetarian? and then he said, oh i don't eat red meat. I gave up trying to explain to him why he was wrong..