A Black Woman Seeks Joy Through Victorian Cosplay in 'Black Girl in a Big Dress'

E X H A U S T
Reactions
177,267 4,465 4,747
Alleybux
Black Girl in a Big Dress [Web-Series] premiered days ago. It's a web-series about a black woman who is into Victorian cosplaying. It was created by and stars Aydrea Walden.

FazecYe.jpg

A Black Woman Seeks Joy Through Victorian Cosplay in 'Black Girl in a Big Dress' (source)
Creator and star Aydrea Walden: "Sometimes, Black people stay up all night at swing dance competitions, or get up early to watch British sitcoms before work.”

"When she’s not writing for animated shows like Nickelodeon’s “ChalkZone,” Aydrea Walden fills her time with hobbies that she thinks people will find strange.

DfWW5Ks.jpg

I’ve always had weird hobbies, especially for a Black person—or so I’ve been told,” she said in an emailed press release. “In high school, I loved Shakespeare and classical music. I mimed a few times. In college, I studied opera and ballet. And now, I attend swing dancing events, Renaissance Fairs and this one Victorian dance society class.”

Trailer:

She draws on these hobbies—and people’s reactions to them—in “Black Girl in a Big Dress,” her new eight-episode web series that premieres today (October 4). Walden stars as Adrienne, a Black cosplayer who confuses her family and friends by adopting Victorian era clothes and speech. The series follows Adrienne as she starts a relationship with someone from her Victorian reenactment events, all while enduring the judgment of her loved ones.

Walden says in the release that she often encounters industry pressure to develop Black characters that conform to stereotypes. She created “Black Girl in a Big Dress” to push against those perceptions.

QwVM8ai.jpg