Let’s Talk CompTIA Certifications

Fearless Fashionista
OLDHEAD
Reactions
222,335 1,808 299
Alleybux
Hey everybody, I am currently in the process of studying for the Security+ certification (601). Has anybody taken any of these certifications? If so, how would you suggest studying for them?

I have been reading while taking notes, and I’m finding that I’m not retaining the information quite as well so I’m open for any and all tips.

Fearless Fashionista
OLDHEAD
Reactions
222,335 1,808 299
Alleybux
I understand what I’m reading because I’ve had some of it classes before so that part is easy to retain. For clarification, I would say I’m not retaining the information right now because it’s like I’m just reading for notes purposes instead of taking it in.

Also, since I’m a beginner in cyber security field what certs do you suggest I get since these are useless?

Moria Rose-Bluth
Reactions
11,837 150 58
Alleybux
Focus on testing yourself. There's a sec+ app and you can schedule when it will pop up and you tackle a few questions a day based on when you are testing.

James michael Stewart has a review guide with access to online practice questions and you can tailor how many questions/which chapters etc.

Find your weak points and practice, don't just read.

Fearless Fashionista
OLDHEAD
Reactions
222,335 1,808 299
Alleybux
Focus on testing yourself. There's a sec+ app and you can schedule when it will pop up and you tackle a few questions a day based on when you are testing.

James michael Stewart has a review guide with access to online practice questions and you can tailor how many questions/which chapters etc.

Find your weak points and practice, don't just read.

Thanks a lot! I have signed up for Professor Messer’s study sessions, and so far they have helped quite a bit.

Reactions
16,729 87 22
Alleybux