Quantcast

My Cake Recipes Always Seem To Be Extra Dense

Jmills

Team Owner
Reaction score
Reactions
168,314 5,851 2,833
Alleybux
So I'm very new to baking and whenever I make cakes and now even cupcakes, the different recipes I try, it seems like my cakes are very just thick and dense. They're never light and fluffy. Is it the recipes that I'm following am I doing something wrong and it comes from all different types recipes I find online. Should I specify light cakes or is it that all these cakes just happen to have a very dense thickness to them?

Hot fries

Team Owner
Reaction score
Reactions
79,231 1,022 72
Alleybux
You could try cake flour instead of regular flour. If you substitute it I think you use a little bit more cake flour. But I usually find recipes that already have the proper cake flour amount listed in the ingredients

PinkPancakes

Team Owner
Reaction score
Reactions
65,378 2,778 141
Alleybux
I'm not sure what the trick is. I love to bake but haven't tried cake for the same reason.

My friend has been baking her entire life and she won't even bake a cake from scratch. She said it's incredibly difficult to bake a good homemade cake. She uses boxed cake but dresses it up by adding things. Folks don't know the difference.

CBGB

Team Owner
Reaction score
Reactions
56,732 4,188 4,136
Alleybux
So I'm very new to baking and whenever I make cakes and now even cupcakes, the different recipes I try, it seems like my cakes are very just thick and dense. They're never light and fluffy. Is it the recipes that I'm following am I doing something wrong and it comes from all different types recipes I find online. Should I specify light cakes or is it that all these cakes just happen to have a very dense thickness to them?

If you beat your cake batter for too long, you may be beating the air out of it.

Try this cake recipe (it is guaranteed to be light due to the method of integrating ingredients): My very best Vanilla Cake - stays moist 4 days!

BigChoppa

MVP