Quantcast

Switching to tech?

LovingonMe1

Princess
Reaction score
Reactions
122,707 11,648 3,650
Alleybux
anyone transitioned from a career to technology without a stem degree or different career?

My major is in Psychology but I am thinking about changing it. I wanted to go into a helping profession but I am realizing that the field I want to go into requires a lot of debt and I don't want to take anymore loans. I was thinking maybe I could do something like volunteering with children as a side gig in the future.

Secrettech25

General Manager
Reaction score
Reactions
41,143 1,477 421
Alleybux
I had no degree when I switched over to tech; I was literally just a tired waitress. I stayed up after shifts learning how to code and creating profiles and just applying to any and every tech job until someone told me, yes and then I grew my career from there.

You can keep your major and still be able to use it in tech; in fact, your major would be great in UX design.

Honey4

Team Owner
Reaction score
Reactions
183,439 8,785 4,475
Alleybux
I had no degree when I switched over to tech; I was literally just a tired waitress. I stayed up after shifts learning how to code and creating profiles and just applying to any and every tech job until someone told me, yes and then I grew my career from there.

You can keep your major and still be able to use it in tech; in fact, your major would be great in UX design.

are you black?

OhWhatNow

Starter
Reaction score
Reactions
1,537 30 80
Alleybux

Aw, we literally have the same story!

And as for the op, right now is the perfect time to get into tech if you are motivated. It is hard but many companies are trying to get more black and latino people into tech.

LovingonMe1

Princess
Reaction score
Reactions
122,707 11,648 3,650
Alleybux
Aw, we literally have the same story!