Quantcast

Taking in a Stray Cat — Advice?

Art Vandelay

Team Owner
Reaction score
Reactions
252 4 2
Alleybux
So, my meth head neighbors have a habit of adopting cats and then leaving them outside/not caring for them and I've been feeding one of them for a few months now. She's v. friendly and I think she was an indoor cat at one point but for at least a year now, she's been an outside only cat. She was a bit shy around people at first but is now the sweetest cat and I've been thinking about taking her in but I've never had a cat before; I've always been a dog person. I'm taking her to the vet sometime this week to make sure she's healthy and have been looking into buying a litter box, scratching post, etc. for her. Is there anything else I can do to make the transition from outside cat to inside cat easier on her?

Liz Gregory

Mrs. Reverend Doctor Reuben Gregory
Reaction score
Reactions
255,711 8,110 17,726
Alleybux
You need to be careful when handling that cat. Who knows what it has been into, bitten by, fed, etc. You also need to take it to the veterinarian to get a complete physical [shots, flea checks, etc.]. Good luck.

Art Vandelay

Team Owner
Reaction score
Reactions
252 4 2
Alleybux
You need to be careful when handling that cat. Who knows what it has been into, bitten by, fed, etc. You also need to take it to the veterinarian to get a complete physical [shots, flea checks, etc.]. Good luck.