Quantcast

Teaching yourself to code

incogneato

No face, no case.
Reaction score
Reactions
2,688,807 494,847 222,828
Alleybux
I'm at a loss career-wise after finishing my bachelors. I want to take a free course as an introduction to coding and see where things go from there. Has anyone been able to get a job in coding from being self-taught? Not as a software engineer, but maybe data analysis, quality assurance etc.

Danmimosa

MVP
Reaction score
Reactions
1,621 71 46
Alleybux
would love to know too, I've enlisted on codeacademy's free course and it's going great but I'm wondering what level of knowledge is good enough to cover a "basic coding language" that might be required for certain jobs?

foreverbored

General Manager
Reaction score
Reactions
9,733 196 14
Alleybux
would love to know too, I've enlisted on codeacademy's free course and it's going great but I'm wondering what level of knowledge is good enough to cover a "basic coding language" that might be required for certain jobs?
me too! I know its a good skill to have regardless but I'm wondering if teaching myself online will be enough to qualify for any jobs

Reaction score
Reactions
7,661 264 175
Alleybux
Join GitHub, create a blog with your projects. Apparently hiring managers don’t like projects from online courses because it’s guided. The blog could also include articles that are data related. That shows you can write reports or use data to create visualisations.

Get involved in any data related project at work, even if it’s a process improvement. It could be changing the way you record KPI for example.

CodeAcademy/DataCamp or even an intensive bootcamp is a great way to start though.

R, Python, VBA (more for office related stuff vs data analysis though) are good languages.

I work in Analytics...

CarlosSmith

Bench Warmer
Reaction score
Reactions
Alleybux
So first choose your aim after learning programming: